Day 3 at the Edinburgh Fringe, 7/8/2016

Sunday is traditionally a day of rest. This was an exception to the rule.

Taking data once more from the Fitbit, I had 8 hours 12 minutes sleep, which is fairly decent for when living away from home. Breakfast was nowhere near as sumptuous as Saturday and was limited to a bowl of Weetabix and a cup of tea. I like that as a breakfast, even if the Weetabix become soggy.

The usual process of showering followed. I believe the one installed in the flat is a power shower, but it’s very difficult to get the temperature right ; turn it too low and it’s freezing, too high and you end up being scalded. The “sweet spot” appears to have been established so I’m rather hoping no-one messes with the controls at any point. Anyhow, I’ve enjoyed the showers I’ve had here so far.

My first port of call for the day was Calton Hill, home to the National Monument among other things. The aforementioned had always looked quite striking to me, especially when looking up from Princes Street. The walk itself was nice, as one has to cross the city (the flat is just off the Lothian Road), taking in the Castle and the Royal Mile on the way. There’s a steep enough approach – it’s on a hill, what do you expect? – before you’re gteeted by a field of, well, landmarks. It all looks a little bit hodge-podge and as if it were a newly created world in a sandbox game. Not entirely underwhelming though and you get some excellent views of Edinburgh, though from not such a height as Arthur’s Seat.

That done and dusted, I was hoping to get to Ciao Roma on South Bridge in time to see Mark Silcox’s show “Helping Aamer”, a “lecture” about the Australian comedian Aamer Rahman who Mark believes to be suffering from anger issues – and so tries to establish why that’s the case. Since there were laminates and a laptop, this can broadly be classed as a multimedia show – and it’s not often you get made a cup of tea and be offered a biscuit at a stand-up gig, such as Mark did today. Forming part of the hour, there’s great joy in Mark’s blatant disregard for the rules of stand-up comedy, throwing the book out of the window and very much confident in his own abilities. It takes a lot to be able to leave the room to get eggs out of a kettle because there’s too much water holding it in. Aamer is sent positive vibes via a DIY rocket, his tweets are read out, Mark analyses his anger. It’s a simple premise that effectively showcases the analytical mind of Silcox. As previously mentioned, it’s on at Ciao Roma, at 2.10pm, Free.

I would have liked to go and see Rob Auton after this, but needed to collect some belongings from the accommodation before I could really think about doing anything else. Having got back around 3.45pm, I had an early dinner, consisting of two packets of Sainsbury’s Own noodles with curry flavouring. I misjudged the cooking a little and ending up with a lot of brothy water, though it did taste nice and was filling. The packets are just 30 pence and you can add things to the meal if you wish, be that onion or mushrooms or butter, so this might well be one of the most cost-efficient dinners you’ll have.

By 4.30pm I had left again and it was straight onto Silk for SBCLB, which is easier than writing the full name. There was a buoyancy after the first day’s turnout, though with no illusions that this created false hope. There were perhaps 20 people in the room for this one (my prediction was way off), though I could see genuine signs of tiredness on people’s faces when I did my set. Still, a very nice crowd and I enjoyed it. WHICH IS ALL THAT MATTERS. PROBABLY.

The show under-ran leaving more than enough time to get to the Globe Bar for Maddie Campion and Danielle Grufferty’s “Coshowpolitan”, the alternative to women’s magazines. It’s set up like one, which is an excellent concept for an hour ; both Maddie and Danielle act as hosts in between doing sets of their own, Danielle’s caustic deadpan a perfect counter to Maddie’s excitable cynicism. The audience are treated to an Agony Aunt, a how to guide on snaring a man as well as a set from Yuriko Kotani, the “cover star” for the evening, whose charming derision of a number of British foibles is well executed. By no means was the flow perfect for Coshowpolitan, but I enjoyed myself and the chance to see these acts showcase their individual and collective talent.

I think this under-ran slightly too, which was no bad thing. Whilst waiting for Get Duffed on Saturday night, I heard around 20-30 minutes of Alison Thea-Skot in the room next door, so made it my duty to go and see her next, performing “It’s Getting Thea-Skot in Here (So Take Off All Your Clothes)”, which, even if it includes laboured punning, is one of my favourite show titles thus far ; and, as it turns out, one of my favourite shows I’ve seen so far. Thea-Skot takes character comedy to the extreme, building eminently believable characters that are on the verge of being unhinged from reality. It’s all done with a big smile on her face and there’s something infectious about watching her enjoying the process. We had characters like Inspector Spray Tits (the excitable Swedish female detective), a dog handler, a doner kebab and Cher. There was something for everyone and it might well be the most fun you’ll have across an hour at the Fringe. I couldn’t recommend this enough. If you want to go, it’s at UpTwoL, Cowgatehead, 8.45pm. Best thing is it’s free.

Leaving very much beaming, I had plenty of time to get across to the Voodoo Rooms to see Jayde Adams, with her debut “31”, predicated on Adele’s numbering system of albums. I had been talking to a man called Pavel outside who decided to follow me in, which ultimately made me feel uncomfortable and wanted to ply me with alcohol, so I asked for him to be ejected from the venue, especially as he was extremely drunk anyway and was disrupting the show. I hope I made the right decision in this instance. Anyway, once that had been dealt with, I could concentrate fully on watching, and it did not disappoint – Jayde has a masterful stage presence, totally owning the space ; very much in control of what she was doing, none better evidenced than her imagined sex scene, taking a volunteer from the front row to help re-enact. It’s by turns hilarious and moving and the closing song could have you in tears having listened to the previous 57 minutes or so. Jayde is on at 10.30pm at the Voodoo Rooms – yet another free show.

It was tempting to call it a night after this but was in a bind for I had no keys, so over to Banshee Labrinyth for some late night Mario it was, hosted by Chris Coltrane who had been joined by Thom Clutterbuck. This wasn’t a show as such, just a chance to watch two comedians playing levels on Super Mario Maker whilst chatting, in the confines of a tiny cinema. I had never played SMM before, but it was very engaging and Coltrane is an excellent host,  playing with childlike delight, but with the vocabulary of a trooper. This is an appealing way to end a long day at the Fringe and I’m glad I went.

On the way home I got some chips with cheese. They were actually very tasty. Home and then bed.

That’s all for Sunday.

Pictures to enjoy.

 

Leave a Reply

